tokyostargirl

my soul sis lisa’s big day

Posted in makeup by tokyostargirl on August 25, 2009

IMG_0872

My sweet soul sis, Lisa, and I met back in high school when I went to CA for a Christian camp. I was 1/2 out of towners (from TX) so needless to say, we didn’t know many people. Lisa (and Quyen & Y that appears later in this entry) were the only 3 girls that were nice to me. Over the years, we kept in touch, via chatting online. We have NEVER lived in the same city, actually not even in the same state over the course of 10+ years, but our friendship proves otherwise. Lisa and I became what we call “soul sisters” because we had so much in common and felt so connected¬†– almost like soulmates – so we came up with “soul sisters” to show how close we felt. She got married at the end of July and OF COURSE I wouldn’t have missed it for anything. I moved back to the US (and left Japan) early just so I could fly to San Jose to be with her on her big day. It was a great reunion since the 4 of us (L, Q, Y, and myself) haven’t been together at the same time since the camp where we met. Q and Y have both visited me in Japan (at different times) and Lisa came to visit me when I lived in Austin. One of my favorite memories with her is “drinking” in the library. Since both of us don’t really drink – we thought it would be funny to get photos of us drinking in the library so we bought wine coolers and snuck them in. We had the best time trying to be sneaky and letting out our “bad” side since we were/are such good girls.. hahaha – good times, Lis! Congratulations! Oh yeah – tell Billy I haven’t forgotten that he owes me a trip back to San Jose to visit you! We made a bet many years ago that whoever got married first – the other’s husband – would have to fly us to visit eachother. I won! =)

IMG_0759

:: the BEAUTIFUL bride ::

IMG_0655

:: chosen “bouquet” girls – we walked down the aisle after lisa and each gave her flowers to make her bouquet – cutest idea! ::

IMG_0710

:: the gorgeous wedding ::

IMG_0778

:: my handsome date ::

IMG_0809

:: these took her FOREVER to do – done one by one ::

IMG_0793

:: each table had their own cake and lisa & billy came by each table to cut it – we wanted red velvet, but ended up with banana – still good! (too bad I’m allergic) ::

IMG_0796

IMG_0797

:: super cute – super creative ::

IMG_0800

:: oh how sweet it is! such yummy sweets including the most delish macaroons from paulettes ::

IMG_0802

:: super cute idea – everyone had so much fun coming up with different poses and messages ::

IMG_0806

:: this pic makes me happy, awesome girlfriends with my awesome boyfriend ::

IMG_0810

:: some of us at table 4 – the BEST table, you know ::

IMG_0826

:: at Hakone Gardens – I felt like I was still in Japan ::

IMG_0837

:: REUNITED and it feels OH SO GOOD – the 4 of us have not been together at the same time in over 10 years! ::

IMG_0855

:: the bride gettin’ down during their wedding dance ::

IMG_0903

:: oh so sweet ::

IMG_0878

:: <3 ::

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. samantha said, on August 25, 2009 at 7:24 AM

    what an adorable charming wedding, love this post.

  2. CestLaVy said, on August 25, 2009 at 10:46 AM

    A really creative wedding!

  3. anh said, on August 25, 2009 at 12:36 PM

    what a beautiful wedding and great pics! i loved your outfit dear! o and i posted a diy on my blog! check it out!!!

    can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!!! o and neal too!

    xoxo
    anh

  4. issa said, on August 25, 2009 at 1:52 PM

    haha i will always think of banana’s making your ears itch… :)

  5. Izumi said, on August 25, 2009 at 7:47 PM

    awwwwwwww!! she looks so glowy and happy!! :) :) love the pics!

  6. JD said, on August 25, 2009 at 8:58 PM

    what a great story– wine coolers + the library is an excellent idea!

    p.s. what a cute & quirky wedding, i LOVE it!!!!

  7. lisa said, on September 17, 2009 at 11:28 PM

    I LOVE YOU SOUL SIS!!! It wouldn’t have been the same without you!!! Thanks for posting… the wedding was a blast!

  8. lisa said, on September 17, 2009 at 11:30 PM

    OH you will get your ticket here… I haven’t forgotten either!! :)

  9. LMX said, on October 17, 2009 at 10:01 AM

    Thank you for your lovely comment =D

    What a fabulous wedding! Great pictures, Looks like all of you had so much fun and the bride looked beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

