tokyostargirl

Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express

Posted in drugstore finds, makeup, product review by tokyostargirl on July 16, 2008

This mascara really spoke to me when I saw the bright packaging at the local drugstore. The tube is quite entertaining with it’s neon yellow color. You know you can never lose it in your makeup bag! Reviewers are saying it is Maybelline’s answer to Cover Girl’s Lash Blast. I have heard many good things about Lash Blast, but I have not personally used it before so I can’t compare. When you first open up the Colossal tube (I got it in Glam Black – there is also Classic Black), there is a light fake rose scent, but once you apply it to your lashes – the smell disappears. To apply – I swept the brush upwards from root to tip in order to create dramatic volume. The brush is really soft on the eyes and it doesn’t flake. I just found it a little difficult to separate each lash using this mascara, but I used a separate eyelash brush afterwards to do the trick. It does give you a lot of volume, but I don’t think it gives you 9x the volume as it claims. If you want a really dramatic look, you need to put on at least 2-3 coats. I curled my lashes before applying this so the curl held up nicely. It is easy to wash off as long as you use eye makeup remover (I totally recommend the eye maker remover from Avon) and it doesn’t leave you with raccoon eyes (that’s a plus!)

tokyostargirl gives it 3.5/5*s

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anne said, on July 16, 2008 at 5:59 PM

    You guys have a boiling crab too? I dont even know if they have one in texas. I just recently heard about the one closest to me (which is 45 to 1 hour drive]. does the one in texas have their seafood drenched in “the whole she-bang”? lol.

  2. Mikkky said, on May 16, 2010 at 5:45 PM

    I like this brand and it is so good for me!


Leave a Reply

