tokyostargirl

my new phone

Posted in just wanted to share by tokyostargirl on August 18, 2008

 click here for more info.

I’m in Tokyo now. I forgot how hard it is to roam around town without having any means of communication. Thanks to my super awesome friend, Ai – I was able to get a cell phone here. She spent her birthday sitting in a cell phone shop helping me get a phone. What a friend!

In the end, I went with Softbank (formerly known as Vodafone) – I wanted a change since last time I lived here, I had AU. I had to represent my girly side and got this phone in “vivid pink.” So far – I love it! It had a huge screen where I can talk, text, AND watch tv! =)

I got the best number, too. I got to pick my last four digits so I went with TRAN like I had when I lived in Austin all through college. 3s and 7s are considered lucky here and so the 4 numbers before my last name consists of those. Ai says I’m a lucky gal!

I still don’t have my own place to live, but I found one that I really like – I’ll find out next week if we’ll be able to get it or not.  In the meantime, I’ll be living with Ai – but at this moment, I am staying at my Japanese popstar friend’s super nice bachelor’s pad while he’s away in the US.

It feels good being back – just feels like I went on a year vacation (back to the US) and now it’s back to reality. School starts this Thursday so I’m just trying to relax as much as possible until then. I miss my mommy, family, friends, and bf like crazy. Wish I could pack them all up and take them with me.

Tagged with: , ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. L said, on August 18, 2008 at 5:58 AM

    Wooo hooooo!

    We should meet, plus you have Softbank so we can talk between 1am to 9pm fo’freeeee! wooooooooooooo!

    Email me!

  2. Tangerine said, on August 18, 2008 at 6:11 AM

    I start my certification class (TEFL) September 27th and soon after I will start working. I’m so nervous! How is it like teaching kids in Japan? Hopefully after my year in Shanghai (what i’m aiming for) I hope I can come to Japan, or maybe visit and we can finally meet! 🙂 Is this the only blog you use?

  3. tokyostargirl said, on August 18, 2008 at 6:32 AM

    L – yay! Yes we can talk from 1am-9 pm for free! It’s funny how in the US it’s nights and weekends that are free, but here it’s cheaper to talk during the day! Let me know when you come to Tokyo again!

    Tangerine – That’s wonderful! I actually teach at an international school here so it’s a bit different. My degree is in elementary education. I am so excited for you! You will have so much fun in Shanghai. I have a few friends there. You are more than welcome to come to Japan anytime! I’ll show you around. =) I have a few other blogs. http://www.xanga.com/heavnzhope is my personal one and I’m starting a new one for all things japan http://www.tokyowears.blogspot.com (there’s nothing on there now, but there will be!)

  4. Brittany Tran said, on August 18, 2008 at 7:12 AM

    Jeannie, it’s me Brittany that comment you. just fyi so you dont think its someone crazy! 🙂 i’m tangerine! Tangerine is actually my moms name in english, thats all.

  5. anhesty said, on August 18, 2008 at 10:12 AM

    miss you too!!!!! i can’t wait to see you in dec!

  6. Tracy said, on August 18, 2008 at 4:43 PM

    Your new phone looks pretty cool. Hope you’re able to find your own place, though I’m sure you don’t mind staying at a pop star’s bachelor pad. 😀

  7. TGFO said, on August 19, 2008 at 11:28 AM

    “bf” means “bestfriend”, right? And if so, you don’t miss me, you just miss the big monitor and the bed for sreeping and that military shirt/basketball shorts combo you love so much.

  8. LadyJane said, on August 28, 2008 at 4:52 PM

    Japan has the nicest cellphones (or technology for that matter), too bad they don’t work anywhere else 😦


Leave a Reply

