tokyostargirl

hai flat iron review

Posted in beauty products, before/after, product review, tokyostargirl's take by tokyostargirl on March 24, 2010

My hair has always been naturally wavy – and although you may think that is a good thing – you have to know that it’s not the GOOD kind of wavy, it’s the kind that just does what it wants, in every direction. Even when I have long hair, I have to tie it back b/c the crazy waves bothered me so much. I’ve gotten my hair straightened 5 times, in 5 different countries and the next day it looked exactly the same as it did without the straight perm. UNBELIEVABLE! So needless to say, I gave up on that idea.

I read a lot of great reviews about this Hai Convertable Ceramic Straightener and figured I should give it a try. Though it does not make my hair stick straight, it does a good job at taking out the wave FUNK that I have going on. It heats up quickly – in about 30 seconds. It’s easy to handle and fast, given my hair is on the shorter side at the moment. It takes me about 2 minutes to get it straightened to my liking and lasts most of the day (given I put in a little product after). Once my hair gets longer, I’m trusting that it will still do a good job – that will be the true test so I’ll definitely update when the time comes.

I got it for $75 at folica.com. This is what it features (taken from their website):

Product Features:

*Sapphire ceramic plates are unmatched for equal heat distribution.
*New Infra Red Heat technology seals in hair’s moisture and luster.
*Faster heat-up time than conventional coil straightening irons – It will rise to the desired temperature in less than 25 seconds from being turned on. Therefore, to save electricity and prolong lifespan, it should be turned off between uses with the Off-On switch located on the temperature control thermostat. It still saves half the time of conventional models.
*Hotter and more consistent heat at all adjustable temperature settings.
*Variable temperature settings (170oF – 390oF, 60oC – 200oC) for all hair types. For bleached, fragile, damaged and fine hair, the lower setting is advised. For normal hair and regular use, a middle range is recommended. For coarse, thick, ethnic and resistant hair in healthy condition, maximum heat on high setting is used to save time and effort.
*Ergonomic design is easier to press, hold, mold, twirl and curl hair.
*1″ width for added control, ideal for short to medium length hair.
*Voltage: 120V 60Hz for use in US/Canada.
*One-year limited warranty.

HAI CONVERTABLE CERAMIC FLAT IRON

All photos were taken by me.

BEFORE

AFTER

tokyostargirl gives this HAI FLAT IRON 5/5 stars *****

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. anh said, on March 24, 2010 at 12:20 PM

    so sexy… rawr! great review!

  2. SharonLei said, on March 25, 2010 at 11:51 PM

    Either way, your hair looks great!!

    xx Love & Aloha

    • tokyostargirl said, on April 7, 2010 at 2:40 PM

      Aww – thanks, Sharon – it’s really not cute without the flat iron though!

  3. Katy said, on March 30, 2010 at 9:39 PM

    I recently got the Sally’s GVP flat iron; super cheap and apparently compares to CHI … and I love it. It works reallyyy good.


Leave a Reply

