tokyostargirl

First Full Makeup Tutorial

Posted in fotd (face of the day), makeup, makeup looks by tokyostargirl on August 6, 2008

Step by step tutorial on how I created this look

more below the cut.

please comment.

1) just got out of the shower – as bare as can be

 

2) foundation – Max Factor Pan Stik in Medium Beige, applied with the C707-1 foundation brush

– swipe on face (cheeks, forehead, nose, and chin)

* I put my lil pinky there so you’ll know the size – pinky is about the size of a quarter, just a tad bit bigger.

– after foundation

 

3) Everyday Minerals – Soft Bronzer, applied with Deluxe Buffer brush

– after soft bronzer (here I basically used it as a setting powder)

 

4) Eyeshadow base – Urban Decay Primer Potion (UDPP), applied with fingers

 

5) All over/highlight shadow – MAC in “Ricepaper”, applied with large chisel fluff brush

– apply all over lid

 

6) Eyeshadow – MAC “Earthly Riches” Mineralize Shadow, applied with medium chisel fluff brush

– apply on lid only

 

7) Blend, blend, blend!!!!

– Sonia Kashuk limited edition blending brush

– Can you see the difference? The eye on the left is blended (really my right eye), the one on the right is not (really my left eye).

 

8 ) Apply ULTA’s “Galaxy” Eyeshadow to crease

– don’t worry about fall outs – you can brush them away later

 

9) Brush away fall outs with the Deluxe Soft Fan brush

 

10) Apply Ten Beauty’s “Suede” right underneath brow bone as highlight

 – you can see how much I love this!

 

11) Curl eyelashes!

– my favorite eyelash curler by E.L.F. – it broke while my sis & bro in law were in town so my bro in law fixed it for me! what a handy man. =)

– make sure to get all your lashes

– curled pre mascara

 

12) Add mascara

– first time trying the Max Factor “2000 Calorie” mascara and I love it!

– just one coat!

– left eye above (really my right eye) has mascara, the other does not.

 

13) Fill in brows – Sephora “duo N 05” with Sonia Kashuk limited edition brow brush

– left (my right eye) filled, right (my left eye) not, I think you can tell, right? =)

– both filled

 

14) Eyeliner – I used Prestige Liquid Eyeliner in black on upper lashes and Prestige Waterproof Eyeliner pencil in black on my lower waterline

– eyes el final

 

15) Lips – lipliner: Avon in “Neutral”, lipstick: Avon in “Beach Glow”

– lipliner only

– with lipstick

 

16) Blush – Jane’s “Blushing Petal,” applied with ECOtools Blush brush

– make a fishy face so you can apply the blush right on the apples of your cheeks

 

17) VIOLA !!!!

    

     

– the finished look

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. L said, on August 6, 2008 at 8:01 AM

    effing beautiful! you have such a great smile! 🙂 im sorry im late with your reply from my green tutorial. but here i ammmmmm!

    i live in atsugi, close to sagamino station on the sotetsu line.

    woooooo! you’re going back home eh? you should email me! 🙂 i am going to link you!

    flymamal@yahoo.com

  2. anhesty said, on August 6, 2008 at 8:33 AM

    you are soooo purty!

  3. issa said, on August 6, 2008 at 9:06 AM

    oooh yay!!! i see why this took so long. awesome tutorial..
    i’ve been doing eyebrows before eyeshadow.. and eyeliner before eyelashes.. does the order matter?
    and would the eyeshadow portion work on ppl without the crease?? that’s my problem 😦

  4. Tigfo said, on August 6, 2008 at 9:59 AM

    I got really sad when Pinky stopped showing up in the pics. You should just do an update with only Pinky (maybe show how to apply makeup to Pinky).

  5. tokyostargirl said, on August 6, 2008 at 10:10 AM

    L – thank you so much for your sweet comment! Japan actually isn’t my “home” – I’m Vietnamese, but Japan is a big part of my life.. so in a sense – I am going home… =)

    Anh – awww.. thank you, dear! Will I see you before I leave?

    Issa – I made the most of my “hurricane” day. =) Neal said he was glad I used my day wisely and updated this blog instead of packing for Japan. =/
    The order doesn’t matter. Some days I do my brows before shadow and liner before lashes – it’s your preference – there are no rules!
    As for the crease – you can create your own crease by putting a darker shadow (some kind of brown) where the crease is supposed to be. =) trickery.

    Tifgo – of course that is the only thing you would pay attention to – if I did a makeup tutorial for men, would it interest you more? =) I don’t know if I can put makeup on Pinky – she’s naturally beautiful.

  6. Tracy said, on August 6, 2008 at 12:09 PM

    Great tutorial! You look gorgeous! Thanks for incorporating the Jane blush into your look. Now that I see it, it does look like a really great color!

  7. beautifulwithbrains said, on August 6, 2008 at 12:21 PM

    You look gorgeous! Thanks for the great tutorial!

  8. Alyssa said, on August 6, 2008 at 1:00 PM

    MAC “Earthy Riches” is so much purple and brighter on you than on me. :/ I like how it looks on you! 🙂

    I definitely need to check out the blush from Jane. It’s gorgeous on you and I like the overall look. Gorgeous! 🙂

  9. Alyssa said, on August 6, 2008 at 1:54 PM

    Yes, I saw the review on the Jane blushes. It looks great on you. I will wait for their BOGO sale and buy them then. I always thought Jane products weren’t that good. It’s great to hear they have great staying powder which I’m having a hard time finding one like that! 🙂

  10. Cinthia said, on August 6, 2008 at 1:55 PM

    Nice tut! You have a beautiful smile 🙂

    The Armani FF Foundation is available at Nordstrom and Bloomingdales.

  11. Thy said, on August 6, 2008 at 2:00 PM

    I am totally feeling pinky lol.. and i use crown brushes too! lol Nice tutorial 🙂

  12. aileen said, on August 6, 2008 at 2:14 PM

    I love it. I just got Earthly Riches from a CCO and will definitely have to try this look out. Thank you so much for the inspiration.

  13. JustJeni said, on August 6, 2008 at 8:07 PM

    *two thumbs up!*

  14. kat said, on August 6, 2008 at 8:48 PM

    Really adorable! I love the expressions at the end :D!

  15. cestlavy said, on August 6, 2008 at 9:21 PM

    hi jeannie! nice tutorial! i love purple on asian eyes. really compliments. you look great. elf’s eyelash curler is one of my favs. i love how good and cheap it is! looking forward to more tutorials.. =)

  16. LeClassique said, on August 7, 2008 at 12:51 AM

    What a fantastic tutorial!

    And thanks for commenting 🙂

  17. *~k~* said, on August 7, 2008 at 3:09 AM

    you are so gorgeous!!!
    I love how your tutorials are so nice and detailed! 🙂
    thanks for sharing such a beautiful look! 🙂

  18. fabulessbeauty said, on August 7, 2008 at 10:31 AM

    Pretty smokey look! And what is that little pink round thing in your pics?

  19. brittraninc said, on August 8, 2008 at 1:28 AM

    Hellooooo Jeannie!

    I saw your note on facebook, you’re heading back to Japan? Is it to teach again? We should definitely keep in touch, I am awaiting my reply to go to China!

  20. NiNi said, on August 8, 2008 at 12:50 PM

    breathtaking heheh….i’m going to miss that face! regardless how much you show me and with the wonderful tutorial…i can never make my make up look like yours….i think i just get too lazy heheh or maybe i’m just not that talented!

    LOVE YOU!

  21. Tammy M said, on August 24, 2008 at 1:19 PM

    Wow! You are so pretty!!! I love SK’s brushes too! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  22. Tomi said, on July 23, 2010 at 9:18 PM

    You have such a pretty smile!! I love that e/s color on you.

  23. http://washington-apa.org said, on May 12, 2013 at 4:06 PM

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I will revisit once again since I book-marked it.

    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you
    be rich and continue to help others.


Leave a comment